No. 6 Indiana Set for Final Night of NCAA Meet


MINNEAPOLIS – Indiana men’s swimming and diving is headed to the final session of the 2023 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships with five final swims and two diving A finalists on Saturday (March 25) inside the Jane K. Freeman Aquatic Center.

Through three days, Indiana sits fourth with 259 points. A finish within the top four would beat IU’s No. 6 national ranking according to CSCAA as well as the psych sheet projections (No. 5). The Hoosiers have finished top six nationally at each of the last four championships, with two third-place finishes in that span (2018 and 2019).

Senior Brendan Burns will look to defend his NCAA title in the 200-yard butterfly Saturday night, swimming a 1:40.51 in prelims to capture the No. 4 seed in the championship final. Burns was the No. 4 seed with a 1:40 seed time a year ago when he won the title in a program record 1:38.71. Junior Tomer Frankel will join Burns in the A final as the No. 7 seed after he swam a 1:40.94 in the morning.

Senior Van Mathias’ career-high individual national finish was 26th coming into the 2023 meet, but this week he has captured All-America finishes in all three individual competitions swam. On Saturday, he earned his second championship final appearance in the 100 free, swimming a career-best 41.33 to earn the No. 7 seed.

Sophomore Josh Matheny earned the No. 6 spot in the 200-yard breaststroke A final with a 1:51.24. In his career, he has gone as fast as 1:50.56. Junior Jassen Yep nearly qualified for the B final, touching in 1:52.39 as the first alternate.

The sophomore diving duo of Carson Tyler and Quinn Henninger advanced to the championship final of the platform diving event after earning top-four finishes on the 3-meter springboard on Friday. Tyler is the top qualifier in the event, scoring a 425.05 in the prelim. Henninger was fifth in the prelim with a 388.05 score.

Saturday night will end with the 400-yard freestyle relay with IU coming in as the No. 7 seed. Mathias, junior Gavin Wight, Frankel and sophomore Rafael Miroslaw posted a 2:48.11 at the Big Ten Championships to win by over a second. IU’s relay will look to sink the program record, currently sitting at 2:47.11 from the 2018 NCAA meet.



  1. Van Mathias – 41.33 (Championship Final, Career Best)

t32. Rafael Miroslaw – 42.51

  1. Finn Brooks – 43.34


  1. Josh Matheny – 1:51.24 (Championship Final)
  2. Jassen Yep – 1:52.39 (First Alternate)
  3. Maxwell Reich – 1:53.18
  4. Luke Barr – 1:54.28


  1. Brendan Burns – 1:40.51 (Championship Final)
  2. Tomer Frankel – 1:40.94 (Championship Final)


  1. Carson Tyler – 425.05 (Championship Final)
  2. Quinn Henninger – 388.05 (Championship Final)
  3. Andrew Capobianco – 338.40
  4. Maxwell Weinrich – 309.75


Finn Brooks (200 Freestyle Relay*)
Brendan Burns (200 Medley Relay, 800 Freestyle Relay, 100 Butterfly*, 100 Backstroke, 400 Medley Relay, 200 Butterfly)

Andrew Capobianco (1-meter, 3-meter)

Tomer Frankel (200 Medley Relay, 800 Freestyle Relay, 100 Butterfly, 400 Medley Relay, 200 Butterfly)

Quinn Henninger (3-meter)

Josh Matheny (100 Breaststroke*, 400 Medley Relay, 200 Breaststroke)

Van Mathias (200 Medley Relay, 800 Freestyle Relay, 50 Freestyle*, 200 Freestyle Relay*, 100 Breaststroke, 100 Freestyle)

Rafael Miroslaw (800 Freestyle Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay*, 200 Freestyle*, 400 Medley Relay)

Carson Tyler (3-meter)

Gavin Wight (200 Medley Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay*)

* - Denotes Honorable Mention

High-scoring points are up for grabs for Indiana in six championship final positions as well as the relay. The final session of the 2023 NCAA Championships will kick off at 7 p.m. ET.