Home Political News WALORSKI, HOOSIER LAWMAKERS REQUEST EMERGENCY PROPANE EXTENSION

WALORSKI, HOOSIER LAWMAKERS REQUEST EMERGENCY PROPANE EXTENSION

0

images-12

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congresswoman Jackie Walorski and Hoosier lawmakers sent a letter to U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx today requesting an emergency extension to exempt motor carriers from hours of service limitations to enable the delivery of much-needed propane and home heating fuels throughout the Midwest during the severe winter weather.

“We have heard from many distributors and customers in Indiana who have been directly impacted by this shortage.  As additional winter storms and unusually low temperatures continue to impact the Hoosier state, the situation is becoming critical,” wrote lawmakers

On January 14, 2014, the U.S. Department of Transportation declared a state of emergency for the Midwest, waiving hours of service limitations to ensure consumers can steadily receive home heating fuels that remain in unusually high demand.  The exemption is set to expire on February 11, 2014, but lawmakers are requesting an extension beyond February 11 if necessary to ensure there is no disruption to delivery assistance for Hoosiers.  Due to a variety of factors ranging from seasonal weather patterns to distribution challenges, upper Midwest propane inventories are already low.

The State of Indiana has also issued an emergency proclamation waiving hours of service limitations for propane transporters that remains in effect until January 31, 2014.  Federal action would ensure that an emergency exemption stays in place across the Midwest until arctic temperatures subside and are less threatening to Hoosier families.

This morning, Congresswoman Walorski delivered remarks about the letter on the House floor.

Contacts:

Walorski: Elizabeth Guyton 202-225-3915; elizabeth.guyton@mail.house.gov

Bucshon: Nick McGee 202-225-4636; nick.mcgee@mail.house.gov

Brooks: Alex Damron 202-226-5377; alex.damron@mail.house.gov

Coats: Tara DiJulio 202-224-5623; tara_dijulio@coats.senate.gov

Messer: Liz Hill 202-225-3021; liz.hill@mail.house.gov

Rokita: Zach Zagar 202-225-5037; zach.zagar@mail.house.gov

Stutzman: James Wegmann 202-225-4436; james.wegmann@mail.house.gov

Young: Trevor Foughty 202-226-6856; trevor.foughty@mail.house.gov