University of Evansville Theatre presents WAITING FOR LEFTY

u of E

EVANSVILLE, IN (04/05/2024) The University of Evansville Theatre (UET) announces the final installment of the 2023-2024 season with WAITING FOR LEFTY, by Clifford Odets. This production opens at 7:30 p.m., Friday, April 12, in Shanklin Theatre. Additional performances are at 7:30 p.m., on April 13, 18, 19, 20 and at 2:00 p.m., on April 21. Inspired by true events of a 1934 New York taxicab strike, this fictional retelling creates a powerful mosaic of the trials and tribulations of the working class. First produced in 1935, this play made a sensation of its playwright, who became the theatrical conscience of a generation, and this work remains one of the most celebrated and significant plays of the American Theatre. With the fight for living wages and safe, equitable workplaces continuing to cause political debates, this seminal play illustrates the power of individual protest and the right to reform. Grab your picket sign and get ready to march!

WAITING FOR LEFTY is directed by Visiting Assistant Professor Stacey Yen. Associate Professor Eric Renschler ’83 serves as the scenic designer; Associate Professor Sarah Smith serves as the costume designer; Professor Stephen Boulmetis is the lighting designer; Jon Robertson, guest artist, serves as the sound designer; Visiting Assistant Professor Liz Jenkins ’05 is the cultural coordinator; Professor Diane Brewer serves as dramaturg; Blake Elliott ’20, guest artist, serves as the production stage manager; Maya Barry ’25, a junior stage management major from Marietta, Ga., is the stage manager; and Visiting Assistant Professor Scott Carpenter ’05 is the technical director.

The cast features Drake J. Susuras, a senior performance major from Broomfield, Colo., as Harry Fatt; Caden Sevier, a senior performance major from Humble, Texas, as Joe Mitchell; Lillian Grace Carlson, a senior performance major from Minneapolis, Minn., as Edna Mitchell; Owen White, a first-year performance major from Valley Center, Kan., as Miller; Benjamin Lodge, a first-year performance major from Overland Park, Kan., as Fayette; Spencer John Marfy, a senior performance major from Tallmadge, Ohio, as Sid Stein; Jacovia Young, a sophomore theatre management major from Houston, Texas, as Florrie; Folarin Oyeleye, a first-year performance major from Richmond, Texas, as Irv; William Cooper Sanders, a sophomore performance major from Jeffersonville, Ind., as Agate Keller; Garrett Hale, a senior performance major from Haslet, Texas, as Tom Clayton; Brayden Havard, a first-year performance major from Montgomery, Texas, as Clancy; Amoren Newton, a first-year performance major from Denton, Texas, as Dr. Barnes; Madison G. Conway, a senior performance major from Jeffersonville, Ind., as Dr. Benjamin; Adam Techmanski, a junior performance major from Richmond, Texas, as Gunman. The ensemble includes: Mia Lacy, a first-year directing and dramaturgy major from Frisco, Texas; Emily Proctor, a first-year theatre studies major from Jeffersonville, Ind.; Evelyn Hipp, a junior theatre studies major from Nolensville, Tenn.; Matthew Manders, a first-year performance major from Houston, Texas; Jonah Charpie, a first-year design and technology major from Noblesville, Ind.; Ellie Neighbors, a first-year chemistry major; Muhammad Khan, a junior psychology major; and Melody Chambers, a first-year psychology major.

Adult ticket prices are $20 and $18 for senior adults, UE employees, and non-UE students. UE students may obtain one free ticket to each production online or in person at the ticket office in Hyde Hall. In addition, UE Theatre is excited to continue their “Pay What You Will” initiative again this second season. Every Thursday evening performance in Shanklin Theatre is available for any person to pay any price that best fits their budget. Single tickets may be purchased online at or by calling the ticket office at 812.488.2031, Monday through Friday, 12:00 to 5:00 p.m.

The University of Evansville is a private, comprehensive university located in the southwestern region of Indiana. Established in 1854, UE is recognized across the globe for its rich tradition of innovative, academic excellence and vibrant campus community of changemakers.