Home Education TheStatehouseFile.com Named The Top website In The Indiana Collegiate Press contest

TheStatehouseFile.com Named The Top website In The Indiana Collegiate Press contest


TheStatehouseFile.com Was Named The Top Website In The Indiana Collegiate Press Contest


The Indiana Collegiate Press Association announced the results of its annual journalism contest, and TheStatehouseFile.com came up as a winner in several categories, competing against colleges and universities of all sizes across the state.

The Franklin College Pulliam School of Journalism’s 18-year-old immersive-learning program, which sends journalism majors to the Indiana Statehouse to cover state politics and disseminate their work across the state, was honored as having the best overall website, cited for its organization and high-quality content.

TSF also placed first for its use of social media.

Franklin College journalism students Ashlyn Myers, left, and Sydney Byerly, pictured here returning home from a trip to Boston, where they followed presidential hopeful Nikki Haley on the campaign trail, both claimed honors in the 2024 Indiana Collegiate Press Association annual contest.

“The mission to cover the Statehouse is what journalism is all about. It’s great that college journalists are tackling this important topic,” wrote the judge in their comments. “The coverage of the Indiana State Fair is [also] fun. Who wouldn’t want to read about a “9-year-old chicken fanatic“? Good use of each platform.”

Franklin College junior Ashlyn Myers won third place in the features category for her profile of Rep. Victoria Garcia Wilburn, D-Fishers, as a new lawmaker realizing a lifelong dream to hold office. “Sometimes it’s hard to humanize politicians in a manner that doesn’t smack of public relations or party, but you certainly achieved that here,” wrote the judge. “This story kept my attention through the end.”

Myers also took second place in the entertainment column/review category for her write-up of one of Taylor Swift’s Cincinnati appearances.

Franklin senior Sydney Byerly took third place in the animation/interactive graphic category for her how-to-vote graphic based on the board game Life. “A tough call in a tough category, but the overall value of this graphic, combined with its use of simple and yet helpful elements allowed it to carry the day. A nice piece,” wrote the judge.

TheStatehouseFile.com has learned it also won awards in the Indiana Pro Society of Professional Journalists annual contest—where TSF student reporters compete against the professionals—and SPJ’s regional collegiate contest, whose winners compete nationally. There are no details on those awards yet.