The “Mole Awards” Committee selects Mary Hart as a “Mole Award” winner for 2013





Ron Cosby, Chairman of the Board of the City-County Observer, announced Pigeon Township Trustee Mary Hart as a 2013 “Mole Awards” winner after meeting with the “Mole Awards” Committee early in the week. The committee selected Mary for the award because of her many years of dedication to the Pigeon Township Trustee position and to those that benefit from the serves offered by her offices. Mary’s passion, undying commitment, open door policy, and her kindhearted approach the those she serves testifies to the beneficial impact that a well run trustee’s office can have on any community. Mary has held many leadership positions throughout the Democratic Party over the years, and was recently re-elected to be president of the Indiana Trustees Association for the eighth consecutive year. If every Trustee’s office in the state of Indiana were run similar to Mary Hart’s it is likely that the mainstream media and state officials would never consider doing away with the Trustee’s Offices state-wide.


We are pleased to announce that Vanderburgh County Commissioner Stephen Melcher has graciously accepted our invitation to present Mrs. Hart her award at our annual luncheon. Mary is the sixth person selected this year for the prestigious “Mole Award.” She joins the Honorable Judges Brett Niemeier and Wayne Trockman as well as Indiana Senator Vaneta Becker. Matthew Burkhart of Newburgh and Ben Trockman of Evansville have also been selected as recipients for 2013.


Indiana Senator Vaneta Becker was selected for her good public policy, seemingly endless committee work, and her many activities within the community. Judge Niemeier was selected for his work with Evansville’s youth and for his affiliation with the Alternative School. Judge Trockman has been selected for his fair public policy as well as for his work with Vanderburgh County’s first Drug Treatment Court and Matthew Burkhart and Ben Trockman have both been selected as a result of their work in reforming laws and standards of operation. Matthew Burkhart successfully lobbied for reform of Indiana’s child labor laws in respect to children under the age of 14 being able to umpire and referee sporting events, while Ben Trockman’s work has encouraged airline companies to re-examine their policies and standards of operation for the physically challenged wishing to travel.


This year’s “Mole Awards” Ceremony will be held on October 14 at 12 p.m. in the Walnut Room at the Tropicana Hotel. This year’s event marks the sixth annual ceremony to honor those promoting good public policy and commitment to the community. Invitation to the ceremony is by reservation only and this years event is shaping up to be another sold out affair. To place a reservation or with any other inquiries please contact Mollie Darke-Schreiver at (812) 760-4233 or reach her by email at


  1. Great job is recognizing this year’s winners. I know and have worked with most of them and they are all highly deserving.

Comments are closed.