Students from 14 Southwest Indiana High Schools to be Honored by UE’s Mathematics Department

u of E

EVANSVILLE, IND. (04/09/2024) Students from 14 Southwestern Indiana High Schools will be honored during the 31st Annual Mathematics Department Banquet on Thursday, April 11 at the University of Evansville (UE).

The top performing High School junior students will be recognized for their hard work. Students will also be awarded a special add-on scholarship. The schools participating included Boonville High School, Bosse High School, Castle High School, Central High School, Evansville Christian School, Gibson Southern High School, Mater Dei High School, Mt. Vernon High School, New Tech Institute, North High School, North Posey High School, Reitz High School, Reitz Memorial High School, and Signature School.

A room of over 150 people will be on hand for the annual celebration in Eykamp Hall at the University’s Ridgway Center. Keynote speaker and UE alumnus Alan Vandagriff ’14 will present on “Why I’m glad I studied math.” Professor of Mathematics Dr. Clark Kimberling , UE President Christopher Pietruszkiewicz, and Senior Associate Director of Admission Heather Cook will also speak to the audience.

“At our annual mathematics banquet, we celebrate the brilliance of these students’ minds and talents,” remarked Dr. Erin Davis, Associate Professor and Department Chair of Mathematics. “Their passion and commitment serve as a testament to the boundless potential fueled by curiosity and a passion for learning. We are grateful for their attendance and the joy they bring to this yearly event.”


The University of Evansville is a private, comprehensive university located in the southwestern region of Indiana. Established in 1854, UE is recognized across the globe for its rich tradition of innovative, academic excellence and vibrant campus community of changemakers.