Screaming Eagles honored with OVC Medals of Honor


EVANSVILLE, Ind. – University of Southern Indiana Screaming Eagles had 26 student-athletes recognized with Ohio Valley Conference Medals of Honor, six earning the award twice.

The OVC Academic Medal of Honor is given annually to the student-athletes who achieve the highest grade point average (GPA) in a conference-sponsored sport. Every Academic Medal of Honor recipient for the 2022-23 academic year carried a perfect 4.0 GPA.

Of the 291 award winners, 51 were awarded Academic Medals of Honor for multiple sports (and counted just once in the final recipients list). USI’s 26 Medal of Honor student athletes was fifth most in the OVC. Eastern Illinois ranked first in the OVC with 48 honorees.

The Screaming Eagles receiving of the OVC Medal of Honor awards are:

Academic Medal of Honor:
Baseball (2)
Tyler Hutson
Lucas McNew

Men’s Cross Country (2):
Mitchell Hopf*
Joseph Russler*

Women’s Cross Country (4):
Emma Brown*
McKenna Cavanaugh*
Carmen Rodriguez*
Aubrey Swart*

Women’s Golf (1):
Kelci Katterhenry

Women’s Soccer (5):
Madison Cady
Mia Rose Daly
Elizabeth Lippert
Peyton Murphy
Peyton Wilkinson

Softball (4):
Mackenzie Bedrick
Hailey Gotshall
Hannah Long
Jordan Rager

Men’s Tennis (2):
Omar ElSamahy
Lucas Sakamaki

Women’s Tennis (1):
Rachel McCorkle

Men’s Track and Field (3):
Tyler Garrett
Mitchell Hopf*
Joseph Russler*

Women’s Track & Field (5):
Emma Brown*
McKenna Cavanaugh*
Hadley Fisher
Carmen Rodriguez*
Aubrey Swart*

Volleyball (2):
Leah Anderson
Keira Moore