Home Local Sports Parratto Punches Ticket to Paris, Third Olympics

Parratto Punches Ticket to Paris, Third Olympics


Parratto Punches Ticket To Paris, Third Olympics

JUNE 19, 2024

 BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – 2020 Olympic silver medalist Jessica Parratto earned a trip to her third Olympics on Tuesday (June 18) at the U.S. Olympic Diving Trials inside the Allan Jones Aquatic Center in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Parratto and partner Delaney Schnell won the women’s synchronized 10-meter – the event they earned a silver medal in at the 2020 Tokyo Games – with a score of 607.14 points.

Parratto enters the 2024 Paris Games a three-time Olympian, adding to an elite list of IU women to reach three Olympics in diving. She joins Ingeborg Pertmayer (1964, 1968, 1972) and Cynthia Potter (1972, 1976, 1980).

The Indiana swimming and diving program has now produced an Olympic diver in every Summer Games since 1964.

Indiana’s 2024 Olympian count improves to six. Parratto and swimmers Lilly King and Mariah Denigan will represent Team USA. Tomer Frankel (Israel), Rafael Miroslaw (Germany) and Kai van Westering (Netherlands) have each qualified internationally in swimming


JUNE 19, 2024

Josh Matheny has given himself another shot at Olympic qualification with his performances in the men’s 200-meter breaststroke Tuesday, qualifying for Wednesday’s final.

  • Matheny will enter the 200 breast final as the No. 3 seed after winning the first semifinal heat in 2:08.79.
  • Matheny had a heartbreaking result in the 100-meter event on Sunday, finishing third — just outside of top-two qualification.
  • Next Session: Wednesday prelims will begin at 11 a.m. ET as Lilly King helps kick things off in the women’s 200-meter breaststroke. King secured her third Olympics on Monday in the 100 breast and enter the 200 as the No. 2 seed.


Men’s 100-meter freestyle

  • 13. Blake Pieroni – 48.77

Women’s 100-meter freestyle

  • 12. Kristina Paegle – 54.35
  • 14. Anna Peplowski – 54.60

Men’s 200-meter breaststroke

  • 3. Josh Matheny – 2:08.79
  • 15. Jassen Yep – 2:13.27