Nominations Now Open for 2012 EVSC Hall of Fame


Nominations are now open for EVSC’s 2012 Hall of Fame, sponsored by EVSC Foundation. The deadline for accepting nominations will be Oct. 31, 2012. The selected honorees will be announced in November 2012.

Nominees should be:

· EVSC alumni whose lifetime achievements warrant consideration.

· Non-EVSC alumni who has made a positive impact on publication education in the greater community.

Nominations may be made by going to: and filling out the online nomination form, or by stopping by the EVSC Administration Building, 951 Walnut Street, to pick up a form. Forms are due by Oct. 31 to the EVSC Office of Development, 951 Walnut Street, Evansville, IN 47713.

The EVSC Hall of Fame honors distinguished individuals who exemplify outstanding achievement in their life’s work. The Hall of Fame is intended to inspire EVSC students to seek excellence in their own education and careers and is intended to emphasize the importance of service to the community. A gala ceremony honoring the new inductees is being planned for March 20, 2013.

Co-chairmen of the 2012 Hall of Fame are: Wayne Henning, retired executive vice president regional chief operating officer for Old National Bank; Randy Miller, founder of South Western Communications, Inc. and former president of EVSC Foundation; and Ben Shoulders, assistant vice president commercial relationship manager for Fifth Third Bank.

In September 2010, the first class of inductees into the EVSC Hall of Fame was named and honored. They included:

Brent Beeler

A graduate of Harrison High School and Indiana State University, Beeler dedicated his career to building Berry Plastics into a multi-billion dollar international business.

Charles H. Bundrant

Bundrant followed his dream after graduating from North High School to Alaska, where he founded Trident Seafoods, America’s largest and most successful seafood company.

Gayle Cook

A graduate of Bosse High School, Cook and her late husband, Bill Cook, founded the medical manufacturing company Cook Group Incorporated and revitalized historic towns through their generosity and vision.

Lee Hamilton

A graduate of Central High School and former congressman for Indiana’s ninth district, Hamilton serves as the director of the Center on Congress at Indiana University and previously served as the president and director for the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC.

Donald B. Korb

A graduate of Stanley Hall and Bosse High School, Korb was instrumental in the early development of Crescent, Cresline and Wabash Plastics companies and graduated from both Wabash College and Harvard Business School.

James A. McCarty, Sr.

A Bosse High School graduate, founder of Colonial Garden Centers, Inc., and a real estate developer, McCarty created the Bosse C.A.R.E.S. Program, which prepared high school students for post secondary careers and education, and inspired the district-wide Southern Indiana Career Access Network (SICAN) now in place in the EVSC.

William G. Mays

A graduate of Central High School, and attended Lincoln High School, Mays founded Mays Chemical Company which provides chemical products to the food, pharmaceutical and automotive industry and owns the nation’s fourth oldest surviving African American newspaper, The Indianapolis Recorder.

Mattie Miller

Miller was considered by many as a pioneer and bridge-builder for race relations in the 1960’s through today, and retired as a beloved principal from Harper Elementary School.

William Ridgway

After a distinguished career in his family-owned ophthalmology business, Dr. Ridgway established Harlaxton College in Grantham England for the University of Evansville.

John H. Schroeder

A graduate of Bosse High School, Wabash College, and Harvard Business School, John H. pioneered the plastics industry and developed Evansville as a nucleus of this country’s “Plastic Valley,” as well as championing many philanthropic organizations.

Randall Shepard

A graduate of Harrison High School, Judge Shepard was appointed to the Indiana Supreme Court in 1985 at the age of 38 and became Chief Justice in 1987. He recently retired from the position and is now executive in residence at the Indiana University Public Policy Institute in Indianapolis.

Matt Williams

A graduate of Reitz High School, Williams started his television career as a writer/producer for “The Cosby Show.” He has several movies and television programs to his credit, but may be best known as the creator and executive producer of the hit series “Roseanne,” and the co-creator and executive producer of “Home Improvement.” It was during this time that his work was honored with Emmy and Humanitas nominations, as well as sharing a Peabody Award for outstanding achievement in television writing.