Johansen Named CSCAA Men’s Diving Coach of the Year


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – On its own, Indiana diving would have been the 12th-highest scoring team at the 2023 NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships.

Diving contributed 104 points to IU swimming and diving’s fourth-place finish at the national meet, scoring 42.5 more points than any other diving squad. For that dominance, Indiana diving head coach Drew Johansen has been named the CSCAA Division I Men’s Diving Coach of the Year, as announced by the coaches association on Monday (March 27).

Johansen is now a three-time CSCAA coach of the year after winning the women’s coaching award last season and the men’s again in 2018. The ninth-year head coach has produced five diving national championships in the last five years, including two in 2023.

Three Indiana divers scored at least 30 points at the national meet, combining for five medals. Senior Andrew Capobianco led the group with 37, followed by sophomores Carson Tyler (35) and Quinn Henninger (32).

IU had its best performance of the meet on day three in the 3-meter springboard final as the trio all finished within the top four. In his final performance as a collegiate diver, Capobianco captured his third-career 3-meter title with a program-record 522.60 score; his lowest dive earned 81 points, and he outscored the field by 74.3 points. Henninger earned his first-career national medal, taking bronze with 425.40 points while Tyler placed fourth with a 415.50.

The next day, Tyler earned the program’s first platform diving title, outdueling Tennessee’s Bryden Hattie 476.60-455.10. On his fifth dive, Tyler created space with a perfect score on his Back 3 ½ Somersault Tuck to earn a 99.00. He clinched the title with an 81-point dive in round six. Henninger took another bronze in the event with a 408.60.

In the first day of diving, Capobianco earned silver on the 1-meter board with a scored of 439.45 that was just 4.50 short of the title. Among his accolades, Capobianco totaled three national titles, six NCAA medals and 12 All-America honors as a collegiate diver.

Freshman Maxwell Weinrich was IU’s fourth qualifier for the NCAA championships and competed in all four events.

IU men’s diving foreshadowed it NCAA success with a similarly dominant performance at the Big Ten Championships, helping the swim and dive program to its second straight conference title. For the second-straight year, Indiana swept the diving titles. Over the week, IU totaled seven medals and, on the final day, swept the platform diving medals with four Hoosiers on the podium. Capobianco and Tyler shared the Big Ten Co-Diver of the Championships award.