Ivy Tech Community College Names Health Sciences Dean


Ivy Tech Community College Southwest has named Cindy Moore as Dean of the Health Sciences Division.

Moore earned her bachelor’s degree in Communications with an emphasis in Interpersonal Organizational from the University of Southern Indiana (USI).  She went on to earn her master’s degree in Health Care Administration from USI.

Moore began her career at Ivy Tech Community College as an adjunct faculty member in 2006 teaching phlebotomy in the Medical Assisting program.  In 2007, she was hired as a full-time faculty member and Program Chair for Medical Assisting.  Her experience prior to Ivy Tech included numerous years working in the health care industry, including work for Deaconess Health Systems as a certified phlebotomist and Laboratory Supervisor. Moore also served as a Professional Recruiter (nursing and clinical areas) at Deaconess Health Systems for ten years.

During her career as Program Chair, she has served on several regional and statewide committees.  In 2010, Moore accepted the position of interim Dean for the School of Health Sciences. During that time, she implemented a new Health Care Support program for the Southwest region and became Department Chair for Medical Assisting and Health Care Support.

“Cindy brings an enormous amount of talent and experience to the College,” said Ivy Tech Chancellor Jonathan Weinzapfel. “Her background in the health care industry, both as a professional and as an educator, make her an invaluable addition to our academic leadership team.”


Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.