Home Local Sports Indiana Hosts Kentucky in Season-Opening Meet

Indiana Hosts Kentucky in Season-Opening Meet

Brendan Burns (photo: Jack Spitser)

BLOOMINGTON – It’s a new season for Indiana swimming and diving, one that will conclude at the 2024 Olympics.

The Hoosiers will open the campaign with a dual meet on Wednesday (Oct. 4), hosting Kentucky inside the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center. Diving competition will kick things off at 10 a.m. ET with swimming to follow at 1:30 p.m. ET.


Wednesday, October 4 • 10 a.m. ET (Diving)/1:30 p.m. ET (Swimming)

Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatics Center • Bloomington, Ind.

Opponent: Kentucky

Live Results (Swimming): https://bit.ly/3a9t16V

Live Results (Diving): https://bit.ly/3jWYeCQ

Live Stream: N/A



Indiana swimming and diving had another championship season during the 2022-23 cycle. The Hoosier men won the Big Ten for a second-straight year and the fifth time in seven years before capturing a fourth-place finish nationally. IU’s women recorded a program-record seventh-place performance at the NCAA Championships. Divers Andrew Capobianco and Carson Tyler won individual NCAA titles on the 3-meter board and platform diving events, respectively, as IU men’s diving scored 104 points at the NCAA meet. Brendan Burns won a national title for a second consecutive year, this time in the 100-yard backstroke.

Fifteen individuals with ties to the IU swimming and diving program competed at the 2023 World Aquatics Championships, totaling nine medals and four world titles. Ahmed Hafnaoui, entering his freshman season after training a season at IU, won titles in the 800-meter and 1,500-meter freestyle events and took silver in the 400.


Five swimmers with ties to the Indiana swimming and diving program were named to the 2023-24 U.S. National Team in September. The roster includes two members of IU’s current roster – juniors Mariah Denigan (a member of USA Swimming’s open water team) and Josh Matheny. Indiana Swim Club’s Lilly King, Annie Lazor and Cody Miller are also represented. All four of the pool swimmers specialize in breaststroke events.