Hoosiers Build Momentum in Friday Morning Session


MINNEAPOLIS – It’s moving day for the Hoosiers.

No. 6-ranked Indiana men’s swimming and diving looks to make a big jump in Friday (March 24) evening’s finals session after an action-packed preliminary session at the 2023 NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships inside the Jane K. Freeman Aquatics Center.

IU divers showed their stuff in the 3-meter dive prelim, sending three to the championship final. Two-time NCAA 3-meter champion Andrew Capobianco, who won silver on 1-meter last night, led the way in second with a 412.45. Sophomores Quinn Henninger (402.05) and Carson Tyler (400.15) were not far behind in a tightly packed group.

All 10 IU swimmers in prelims placed better than their seeds, with six doing enough to qualify for finals. Three advanced to championship finals, three to consolation heats.

Van Mathias was the No. 2 qualifier in the 100-yard breaststroke despite coming into the week as the No. 11 seed. His new career-best 50.57 set in the morning makes him the second-fastest Hoosier in program history as well as one of two to go under the 51.00 mark. Like his performances this season in the 50 free and 100 free, Mathias has seen huge drops in the 100 breast – his personal best at the start of the season was a 54.74.

Junior Tomer Frankel broke a program record in the 100-yard butterfly, dropping a 44.26 to surpass Olympian Vini Lanza’s 44.37 mark in 2019. Frankel will be the No. 4 seed in the A final after coming in as the No. 7 and finishing fifth at last year’s championships. With a 44.79, senior Brendan Burns advanced to the consolation final after placing ninth a year ago.

Burns later qualified for the 100-yard backstroke championship final, tying for third with a 44.28. The 2022 national runner-up swam a program record 44.15 a year ago.

Rafael Miroslaw was IU lone swimmer in the 200 free. His 1:32.28 tied for eighth to force a swim-off. As a result of that race, Miroslaw is the top qualifier in the consolation final.

Following Mathias’ swim, sophomore Josh Matheny also posted a career-best in the 100 breast, swimming a 51.17 to qualify for the B final. Five Hoosiers swam in the 100-yard breaststroke prelim, and all five placed better than their seed.

Indiana will also swim the 400-yard medley relay, the event it finished second in last year. IU is the No. 4 seed in the event after posting a 3:01.53 to win the Big Ten title.

4. Tomer Frankel – 44.26 (Championship Final, Program Record, Career Best)

  1. Brendan Burns – 44.79 (Consolation Final)
  2. Finn Brooks – 45.45


  1. Rafael Miroslaw – 1:32.28 (Consolation Final)


  1. Van Mathias – 50.57 (Championship Final, Career Best)
  2. Josh Matheny – 51.17 (Consolation Final, Career Best)
  3. Jassen Yep – 52.00 (Career Best)
  4. Maxwell Reich – 52.46 (Career Best)
  5. Luke Barr – 52.73


t3. Brendan Burns – 44.28 (Championship Final)


  1. Andrew Capobianco – 412.45 (Championship Final)
  2. Quinn Henninger – 402.05 (Championship Final)
  3. Carson Tyler – 400.15 (Championship Final)
  4. Maxwell Weinrich – 346.55


Finn Brooks (200 Freestyle Relay*)
Brendan Burns (200 Medley Relay, 800 Freestyle Relay, 100 Butterfly*, 100 Backstroke)

Andrew Capobianco (1-meter, 3-meter)

Tomer Frankel (200 Medley Relay, 800 Freestyle Relay, 100 Butterfly)

Quinn Henninger (3-meter)

Josh Matheny (100 Breaststroke*)

Van Mathias (200 Medley Relay, 800 Freestyle Relay, 50 Freestyle*, 200 Freestyle Relay*, 100 Breaststroke)

Rafael Miroslaw (800 Freestyle Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay*, 200 Freestyle*)

Carson Tyler (3-meter)

Gavin Wight (200 Medley Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay*)

* - Denotes Honorable Mention

Indiana will turn its final seeds into points in Friday night’s evening session. With no one in the first competition of the night, the 400 IM, Indiana’s evening will begin at approximately 7:22 p.m. ET with 200 butterfly heats.