Gov. Holcomb Declares Disaster Emergency for Four Additional Counties, 26 Total Included


Declaration allows emergency management to mobilize resources

INDIANAPOLIS – Gov. Eric J. Holcomb today added four counties to the disaster emergency he declared Feb. 24, Feb. 26 and Feb. 27 in response to widespread flooding and infrastructure damage caused by sustained heavy rainfall. The governor signed a new executive order today to include Jackson, Kosciusko, Newton and Porter counties—in addition to Harrison, Jasper, Ohio, Pulaski, Benton, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Jefferson, Spencer, Warrick, Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland and White counties—making 26 total counties covered by this disaster emergency declaration so far.

The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take necessary actions to provide expanded emergency services and is a step the state is required to take to request assistance from the federal government.

The State Emergency Operations Center (EOC) was activated Thursday morning last week and continues to maintain a statewide operating picture concerning the status of the ongoing flooding and respond to requests for assistance from local officials. The EOC has directly assisted counties by coordinating the delivery of over 824,000 sandbags, two water pumps, heavy equipment and vehicles, labor crews, traffic control, UAV photography, and subject matter expertise on disaster response and recovery.

The Department of Homeland Security announced today that it will open three one-stop state assistance centers in northern Indiana on Monday, March 5 in Lake, Jasper and Elkhart counties. State services will be offered by several state agencies in partnership with the American Red Cross as well as the Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster Group and will include housing support, social services, unemployment insurance, insurance information, public health information, transportation assistance, agricultural assistance and more. For more details on these state assistance centers, visit

The State EOC will continue operating, monitoring the status of the ongoing situation and providing support and resources across the state.

This week, the governor toured flood damage in Clark, Jefferson and Dearborn counties. On Friday last week, he toured Elkhart and St. Joseph counties, learning about the flood damage and engaging with local emergency response teams.