Home Local Sports Goebel and Warren breakout at the Wright State Invitational

Goebel and Warren breakout at the Wright State Invitational


SPRINGBORO, Oh. – University of Southern Indiana Men’s Golf closes out regular season play at the Wright State Invitational with a fourth place finish. The event featured 11 highly-competitive teams who all played in 36 holes on Sunday and 18 holes on Monday.
The format included six competing golfers from each squad with the top four scores in each round counting towards the team scores. The Screaming Eagles scorers were junior Jason Bannister (Laguna Niguel, California), senior Trevor Laub (Edwardsville, Illinois), sophomore Carter Goebel (Breese, Illinois) junior Sam Vertanen (Ames, Iowa), junior Spencer Warren (Dextor, Missouri), and senior Jace Day (Bloomington, Indiana).
Round One
The Eagles posted a respectable first round team score of 289 (+5). Warren had one of the best tournaments of his USI career starting with a first round score of 71 (E). Bannister has been a model of consistency this season starting with a 71 (E).
Round Two
USI dropped a few shots in the second round with a team score of 291 (+7). Goebel caught fire in round two leading the Eagles with a 71 (E). He shot an outstanding 33 in the final nine. Warren added a score of 72 (+1) finishing with a 36-hole score of +1.
Round Three
The Eagles finished their tournament with a third-round score of 284 (E). Goebel produced a season low round of 67(+4) with five birdies. Bannister and Vertanen followed with impressive round scores of 72 (+1) each. USI flirted with jumping two spots into second place but fell two stokes short at twelve over.

Both Goebel and Warren have found their stroke at the perfect time of year. Goebel led the Eagles individually tied for fifth place (-2), while Warren finished in a tie for 13th place (+3). Bannister and Day were right behind with tie for17th place (+8) giving the Eagles an impressive four golfers in the top-20. 
USI concludes the regular season with other memorable feats including: first place at The Buddy at Murray State University, third place at the Bobby Nichols Intercollegiate at Tennessee Tech University, fifth place at the Jewell at Northern Kentucky University, and a match-play victory over University of Evansville.