David Powell Presented with Stephen Johnson Award


During the 2019 IPAC Winter Conference, former Executive Director Dave Powell received the Steve Johnson Award from the Board of Directors. IPAC’s current Chair, Lisa Swaim, presented him with the award at a reception celebrating Powell’s eight years leading IPAC.

In addition to receiving the Steve Johnson award, Swaim also announced that moving forward the Eugene “Shine” Feller Award would be renamed the Powell Feller Award as recognition of Powell’s service and the transformation that he brought to IPAC.

“The Board felt it was an appropriate way to honor the legacy that Dave leaves behind,” Swaim said. “He has made a lasting impact and the Powell Feller Award will be a tribute to Dave’s contributions.”

The Johnson Award was created in 2014 and named after former IPAC Executive Director Steve Johnson, who served as IPAC’s leader for 14 years and spent his entire 38-year career at IPAC. The Johnson Award is given to individuals who demonstrate the same level of professional dedication and excellence as Steve Johnson. An award is based on sustained periods of outstanding support or service to an individual prosecutor or IPAC. With the recognition, Powell is now the first person to receive both the Johnson Award and the “Shine” Feller Award. He received the Feller in 2006 after more than 20 years as the Greene County Prosecutor.

“My grandfather liked to say that people were put on this earth to serve others and to work,” Powell said. “It has been my honor these last few years to serve the prosecutors of this state and to work alongside some very talented people.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here