Bucshon named ‘Friend of Indiana’s Electric Cooperatives’



Nine members of Indiana’s congressional delegation recognized in 2013

Indianapolis – U.S. Representative Larry Bucshon (R-08) was recently recognized by the Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives as a “Friend of Indiana’s Electric Cooperatives.” Rep. Bucshon, along with several other members of Indiana’s congressional delegation, received this honor for steadfast leadership and support of the issues and policies important to Indiana’s electric cooperatives.

“Indiana’s electric cooperatives are grateful to count Rep. Bucshon as a strong friend and ally,” said Scott Bowers, vice president of government relations for the Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives. “Whether seeking support on key votes or assistance with federal agencies, he consistently steps forward to lend a helping hand. This award is one way of expressing our appreciation and acknowledging Rep. Bucshon’s impact on the 1.3 million Hoosiers we serve.”

The “Friends of Indiana’s Electric Cooperatives” award was unveiled this year to recognize members of Indiana’s congressional delegation who have consistently supported policies, issues and regulatory reforms important to Indiana’s electric cooperatives and their mission to provide safe, reliable and affordable electricity. Important votes in support of the Coal Ash Bill (H.R. 2218), the Farm Bill (S. 954 & H.R. 2642) and the REINS Act (H.R. 367) coupled with the congressional representative’s willingness to engage various federal agencies on behalf of electric cooperatives were some of the considerations for this honor in 2013.

“Indiana is home to a vast amount of resources that are vital to our state’s economy and a source of meaningful employment for many Hoosiers,” said Rep. Bucshon. “Our electric cooperatives are a critical component as we continue our work to address regulatory issues from this Administration’s, fight the EPA’s war on coal, and pass a farm bill. I am proud to receive this award on behalf of the constituents I represent.”

Indiana’s Eighth Congressional District, which Rep. Bucshon currently represents, includes over 161,000 electric cooperative member-owners who are served by nine electric distribution cooperatives.

Eight other members of Indiana’s congressional delegation joined with Rep. Bucshon in receiving this recognition in 2013. They are:

• Sen. Dan Coats (R)

• Sen. Joe Donnelly (D)

• Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-02)

• Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-03)

• Rep. Todd Rokita (R-04)

• Rep. Susan Brooks (R-05)

• Rep. Luke Messer (R-06)

• Rep. Todd Young (R-09)

“Indiana’s electric cooperatives are both grateful and fortunate to have so many members of our congressional delegation in Washington, D.C., working on their behalf each and every day,” added Bowers. “Their continued support and partnership will be essential in our efforts to address various issues and regulatory policies, specifically the EPA’s latest climate change regulations, moving forward.”