54th USI annual Juried Student Art Show to be displayed in McCutchan Art Center/Pace Galleries


The University of Southern Indiana Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition, a presentation of selected student artworks from the past academic year, is being held Monday, October 30 through Friday, December 8 at the McCutchan Art Center/Pace (MAC/Pace) Galleries in the lower level of the Liberal Arts Center. This year’s exhibition features 116 artworks chosen by the juror from 287 entries.

The works are chosen by an expert in the field of art, invited by the Art and Design faculty for their expertise and understanding of undergraduate art works. This independent juror is brought in to assure an objective selection of artworks and awards and to provide an educational experience for students in preparation for professional careers in art.

The Fall 2023 juror is Xinran Hu, Associate Professor and Graphic Design at Georgia State University. Hu has taught design courses for 20 years at various universities, including USI, Georgia State University, and Minnesota State University. She holds an MFA in Graphic Design from Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Her design work has earned awards from the American Institute of Graphic Arts, PRINT magazine and Australian Graphic Design Association and has been published internationally. Hu is also a published author with a bilingual book titled “Gestalt Theory in the Art of Chinese Cut-Paper.” Her recent research on using eye-tracking to test Gestalt theory has been published in the journal Leonardo from MIT Press.

This year’s participating artists are Kaya Allen, Alex Arwood, Ashley Banks, Delaney Bigler, Kiernan Bittner, Lia Botello, Aliese Brandes, Hannah Brendel, Elizabeth Bridges, Ethan Brinkley, Jameson Britt-Nellis, Tia Brosmer, Ripley Davis, Kristen Detty, Ella Dornburg, Caitlyn Ebert, Luke French, Courtney Gardner, Jacqueline Godinez, Danielle Goebel, Hunter Greenwell, Isabel Greiner, Sara Griffin, Deanna Hardy, Alyssa Harlow, Ava Harmon, Elizabeth Harris, Claire Hays, Ben Heeke, Aidan Hoover, Jennah Hottel, Lily Hubbard, Shyanne Iles, Kaleb Josey, Madison Jung, Holly Karges, Erin Kelly, Claire Kifer, Inka Kobylanski, Colby Kreilein, David Lloveras, Kennedy Lockyear, Isaiah Lowe, Taylor McKannan, Katherine Medina-Martinez, Amanda Meuth, Mollie Myers, Jenna Norrick, Megan Raleigh, Hannah Rasche, Alaisha Reeves, Noah Ricketts, Bailey Roby, Lisa Ryan-Hutton, Geneva Sagers, Mikayla Satterfield, Christian Schmitz, Evan Scott, Al Sheets, Brandon Skidmore, Violet Thomas-Cummings, Jaeda Thomason, Shelby Trotter, Maliah White, Bailee Wilson, Zachary Winger, Whitely Woolsey, Morgan York, Sydney Young and Jade Young.

At 2 p.m. on Friday, November 3 in Kleymeyer Hall (LA 0101), Hu will give a lecture about her design work and creative process, as well as speak about the process of selecting artworks for this exhibition.

A reception for the exhibition will be held at 1 p.m. Sunday, November 12 and will conclude with a 2 p.m. awards ceremony. Visit the Galleries website for more details. The MAC/Pace Galleries are open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and 1-4 p.m. Sundays.