Braun Intercollegiate Set For Monday And Tuesday


UE Women Ready For Home Tournament

EVANSVILLE, Ind. – One of the highlights of the schedule for the University of Evansville women’s golf team returns next week when the Purple Aces host the Charles Braun Intercollegiate at Oak Meadow Country Club.

Set to play on one of its home courses, the Aces look to continue what has been a strong fall season.  UE is one of seven schools in the event, which also includes Chicago State, Green Bay, UIC, IUPUI, North Alabama and Western Michigan.  Monday’s action features the opening 18 holes before the squads complete the final 18 on Tuesday morning.  Both days open with a 10 a.m. shotgun start.  Par is 72 while the yardage will be 6,213.

Evansville is coming off an 8th place finish at the Butler Fall Invitational where Caitlin O’Donnell recorded her top outing of the fall.  Shooting her lowest three rounds of the season, O’Donnell earned a seventh-place finish.  Included in the tournament was a 72 in the opening round, which tied her lowest collegiate round.

Taking second for UE and tying for 16th in the event was Allison Enchelmayer.  The junior posted a 76 or lower in all three rounds.  After opening the contest with a 2-over 72, Enchelmayer posted back-to-back rounds of 76 on her way to a final stroke tally of 224.  Mallory Russell also had a strong outing, completing all three rounds with tallies of 78 or lower on her way to a tie for 24th.  She finished day one with scores of 73 and 75 before registering a 78 in the second day to finish with a 226.

Carly Frazier continued to put together a solid fall.  After scoring an 82 in the first round, Frazier bounced back with rounds of 76 and 79 in the final two rounds.  Her total score of 237 was good for the 59th spot.  Two behind her was Alyssa McMinn, who tied for the 63rd spot with a 239.  McMinn’s scores finished at 80, 77, and 82.  Individual Taylor Keating completed the invitational with a 269.

The Braun Intercollegiate has been a successful one in the past for Evansville, who won the team championship in 2015 and 2016.  Those two seasons also saw Kayla Katterhenry take the top individual honors.  The tournament has taken place annually since the fall of 2012 with the exception of 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.