Hoosiers Qualify Four for Final Night of NCAA Championships


 INDIANAPOLIS – The No. 15-ranked Indiana University women’s swimming and diving team qualified three swimmers and one diver for the final night of finals at the 2017 NCAA Championships on Friday at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis, Ind.

IU will have three in Championship Finals and one swimmer in a Consolation Final, not counting the 1,650 freestyle. That event uses five heats as the final and the Hoosiers will have two swimmers participating later Saturday afternoon.

200 Backstroke

Kennedy Goss continued her great week at the NCAA Championships, qualifying fifth overall for the Championship Final of the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:50.62. Goss’ time is the fifth-fastest time in school history and the second-best mark for Goss in her career.

200 Breaststroke

Lilly King, the defending NCAA champion in the 200 breaststroke, qualified fourth overall for the Championship Final on Saturday night with a time of 2:05.90. King’s time is the fifth-best in IU history.

King, who won the NCAA title in the 100 breast for the second-straight year on Friday night, will be looking to claim her fourth NCAA crown in two years on Saturday night.

200 Butterfly

Gia Dalesandro, the four-time Big Ten champion in the 200 butterfly, earned a spot in the Consolation Final, qualifying 14th overall with a time of 1:55.03. Dalesandro’s time is the seventh-best in school history.

Bailey Pressey placed 33rd overall in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:57.78, improving nine spots from her seed of No. 42.

Platform Dive

Jessica Parratto was in full control of the platform dive semifinals on Saturday afternoon, earning the No. 2 seed in the Championship Final with a total score of 333.40. Parratto, the two-time Big Ten champion and 2015 NCAA champion in the event, changed her fifth and final dive difficulty to 1.9 with her spot in the A Final secure.

The Indiana University women’s swimming and diving team will conclude competition at the 2017 NCAA Championships on Saturday evening at 6:00 p.m. ET with the finals of the 200 backstroke, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, platform dive and 1,650 freestyle.

Be sure to keep up with all the latest news on the Indiana men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams on social media – TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

200 Backstroke

Kennedy Goss – 1:50.62 (Championship Final)

200 Breaststroke

Lilly King – 2:05.90 (Championship Final)

200 Butterfly

Gia Dalesandro – 1:55.03 (Consolation Final)

  1. Bailey Pressey – 1:57.78

Platform Dive

Jessica Parratto – 333.40 (Championship Final)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here