Hoosier Divers Earn Three More Spots on Final Day of NCAA Zone C Championships


The Indiana University men’s and women’s diving teams earned three more spots at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships on Saturday afternoon in Columbus, Ohio.

Both Jessica Parratto and Andrew Capobianco ended their great weeks on a high note, earning a third individual berth to the NCAA Championships. Both divers will compete in all three diving events at the NCAA’s. Freshman Mya Kraeger earned her first NCAA berth with a great performance in the platform dive.

In total, the Hoosier men qualified three divers that earned a total of seven NCAA spots, while the women had two divers earn four berths. Along with Parratto, Capobianco and Kraeger, both Michael Hixon and James Connor will dive in the 1-meter and 3-meter dives at the NCAA Championships.

In the women’s platform, Parratto was terrific, placing third overall in the final with a total of 604.65. Kraeger had a great showing, earning her spot at the NCAA Championships in the event with a score of 484.05.

Capobianco capped his week with another stellar outing, placing third overall with a total of 769.00 to earn his place at the NCAA’s. Capobianco is the only freshman in the nation to earn a place in all three diving events at the NCAA Championships.

Next up for the Indiana University men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams will be the NCAA Championships. The women’s NCAA’s run from March 14-17 in Columbus, Ohio, while the men’s NCAA Championships will take place from March 21-24 in Minneapolis, Minn.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here