The City-County Observer is excited to announce that Ben Shoulders is our “Outstanding Community Services Award” winners for 2019.

 Three years ago Democrat Benjamin Shoulders ran for the Vanderburgh County Commissioner and was elected by a comfortable margin.

Since his election, he has been extremely effective in promoting good public policy and has seemly been a voice of reason and compromise. Mr. Shoulders has demonstrated that he can face difficult governmental challenges with an open mind.

Commissioner Shoulders is extremely outgoing and is from a well respected and prominent political family of this area.

He is a Commercial Lender III at Banterra Bank and has been in banking 16 years.

Ben received his college degree from Indiana University (Bloomington) – Bachelor of Arts ’02 CJUS (College of Arts and Sciences). He was graduated from Harrison High School–Magna Cum Laude (College Prep).

He received his certification from Indiana Bankers Association – Bank Management Series in 2010 and the Indiana Bankers Association – Commercial Lending School (2011 Graduate).

Ben is married to former Shannon Perrette of Evansville for 11 years and they have three (3) children.  Emma who is 9 years old and 6 years old twins Parker and Sadie and they reside in Evansville.

Some of Ben’s favorite things he enjoys doing are coaching youth basketball and taking his family to a local restaurant and eating fish tacos and drinking slushies.

His Community involvement Is Very Impressive. Listed Below Are Some Of Them

Vanderburgh County CommissionerDistrict One (Elected – Nov 2016; took office – Jan 1, 2017)

GAGE (Growth Alliance of Greater Evansville) – Board Member (2018 – present)

Commission on Homelessness – Board Member (2017 – 2018)

Past Community Corrections – Board Member (2017)

Old Courthouse – Board Member (2017 – present)

Domestic and Sexual Violence Commission – Board Member (2017 – present)

IU College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Board (2014 – present)

Boys and Girls Club of Evansville – Board President (2018 – present); Vice President (2016 – 2017)

EVSC Foundation Board of Directors – Vice President (2013 – 2018)

Darrell Ragland Foundation Board of Directors – Board Development Chair (2014 – 2018)

United Way – Keel Club (2014 – 2018); Southern Indiana Campaign Cabinet Member (2016)

Past “EVSC Hall of Fame” – Co-Chairman (2012, 2014, 2016)

IU Alumni Association of Greater Evansville – Past President / Board member 

Convention and Visitors Bureau Board of Commissioners – Board Treasurer (2014 – 2015)

Past member of the Habitat for Humanity of Evansville – Development Committee 

Current Leadership Evansville Board of Directors (2011-14; 2018 – present)

Harrison High School /Warrior Athletic Booster Club – Past President (2010 – 2013)

Harrison High School Athletic Hall of Fame – Founder and Past Chairman

WNIN Channel 9 Auctioneer (2011 – 2015, 2017, 2018; ”Red Blue Hoops” radio show co-founder and past co-host 2014-16)

Past member of the Evansville African American Museum Gala – Auction Committee 

 Below Are A List Of Mr. Shoulders Current And Past Awards and Honors:

Top Producer/President’s Award – First Federal Savings Bank (2010 and 2011)

Community Service Award – Fifth Third Bank (January 2013)

Most “Starz” Volunteer Hours in Evansville Market – Old National Bank (2014, 2015)

Selected as a Top Performer for Old National Bank (2015) 

Chamber of Commerce Drive – “Big Dawg Award” (most memberships sold)

Past Recipient of the President’s Award for Community Service – Boys and Girls Club 

Selected as  a “Top 20 Under 40” – Evansville Business Journal/Evansville Courier and Press in September 2011

Selected as “Top 20 Under 40” – News 4U Magazine (2015) 

Involved in 100 Men Who Cook — Chef -Evansville (2012- present)

Past Vanderburgh Medical Alliance Annual Style Show – Master of Ceremonies

This year’s awards luncheon will be held at Tropicana-Evansville Walnut rooms A and B. The registration begin at 11:30 am, the event officially starts at 12 noon on October 25, 2019. Reservations for this event maybe obtain by calling 812-774-8011. Deadline for registration is October 15, 2019. Last years event was a sellout.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here