

## News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Lori Young, Evansville Teachers Association President

Email: president@evansvilleta.org

Phone: (812) 270-0398 (mobile); (317) 263-3403 (office)

## **Evansville Teachers Association Endorses Candidates for EVSC Board of School Trustees**

Evansville, IN — The Evansville Teachers Association has announced its slate of endorsed candidates for the EVSC Board of School Trustees. A message sent yesterday to ETA members read in part,

"All 14 candidates for the EVSC Board of School Trustees were invited to participate in our endorsement process, and 12 chose to do so. We believe Trustees need adequate experience to serve on a governing board of a nearly \$300 million corporation and need to value a strong and vibrant public school system as a cornerstone of our community. Some candidates are lacking in one or both of those qualifications; we have chosen to endorse all of the candidates who possess both. To that end, the Evansville Teachers Association endorses the following candidates for election to the EVSC Board of School Trustees:

District 1

Chris Kiefer

Mike Duckworth

Andy Guarino

David Hollingsworth

At-large

Melissa Moore

Jeff Worthington

We recognize that in District 2 and in the At-large race we have endorsed more candidates then have open seats. We believe all of these candidates would be strong school board members who will make decisions in the best interests of students and teachers in EVSC, and recommend that voters choose from among the endorsed candidates."

In Vanderburgh County, all residents are able to vote for all school board seats, even though some seats are designated for a specific district. This election, two seats are elected in District 2 and one seat each in District 1 and the At-large race.

**About:** The Evansville Teachers Association is a professional association organized to sustain quality public education, improve students' educational opportunities and advance the professional status of educators. ETA is a local affiliate of the Indiana State Teachers Association, representing certified staff excluding administrators in the EVSC.