YESTERYEAR: ORR IRON COMPANY
BY PAT SIDES, Archivist of Willard Library
Orr Iron Company employees gathered outside of their building in 1949 after a fire safety inspection. Located at 1100 Pennsylvania Street, the five-story building was constructed in 1912, although the business had originated in a small blacksmith shop that Irish immigrant Samuel Orr opened soon after he arrived in Evansville in 1835. The building was a familiar sight for decades, partly because of its location on a busy thoroughfare, and partly because of the firm’s longevity. In 2008, it was razed for a new overpass on the Lloyd Expressway at Fulton Avenue, but the historic limestone entranceway pictured here was preserved by the University of Southern Indiana.
FOOTNOTES: We want to thank Patricia Sides, Archivist of Willard Library for contributing this picture that shall increase people’s awareness and appreciation of Evansville’s rich history. If you have any historical pictures of Vanderburgh County or Evansville please contact please contact Patricia Sides, Archivist Willard Library at 812) 425-4309, ext. 114 or e-mail her at www.willard.lib.in.us.